Gluten Incognito

Gluten can hind in all kinds of places, from the obvious flours to toothpaste additives, as well as travel under many names. Be sure to avoid the following grains and other additives, which are often not labeled as being related to gluten at all.

Emulsifiers does not always include gluten, but may without further labeling
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein usually constructed of corn, wheat and soy products
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein usually constructed of corn, wheat and soy products
Lecithins does not always include gluten, but may without further labeling
Malt Syrup does not always include gluten, but may without further labeling
Maltodexterin (AKA Dexterin and Malto-Dextrose) made from barley malt
MSG which stands for monosodium glutamate
Natural Flavoring does not always include gluten, but may without further labeling
Starch Hydrolysis does not always include gluten, but may without further labeling
Textured Vegetable Protein usually constructed of corn, wheat and soy products

Also, keep up to date on the latest grains and additives that contain gluten on celiac.com, as well as additional places to be aware of gluten and/or cross contamination.